Important Dates

Paper registration deadline:
February 11, 2011
Submission deadline:
February 15, 2011

Acceptance notification:
May 15, 2011
Student posters due:
June 10, 2011
Camera-ready version:
June 15, 2011
Student travel grant application:
June 24, 2011
Author registration deadline:
July 15, 2011
Earlier registration deadline:
July 22, 2011 (extended)


TM-1 Morning, September 9, 2011: 9:00AM-12:30PM

Tutorial title:   Network Survivability Modeling and Quantification
Speakers:       Poul E. Heegaard and Kishor S. Trivedi
Abstract:       This tutorial will consider the network?s ability to survive major and minor failures in network infrastructure and service platforms that are caused by undesired events that might be external or internal. Survive means that the services provided comply with the requirement also in presence of failures. The network survivability is quantified as defined by the ANSI T1A1.2 committee -- that is, the transient performance from the instant an undesirable event occurs until steady state with an acceptable performance level is attained. The goal of this tutorial is to provide an introduction to the concept and definition of survivability and to demonstrate approaches to model and quantify the survivability in networks.  Examples are taken from the survivability of virtual connection over an IP network.
- Poul E. Heegaard is Associate Professor and Head of Department at Department of Telematics, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU). Dr. Heegaard has been active in several EU-IST collaborations. He serves in various international organization committees such as General Chair for RESIM 2012, and program committees, such as Dependable Systems and Networks (DSN) 2011.
- Kishor S. Trivedi holds the Hudson Chair in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Duke University, Durham, NC. He has been on the Duke faculty since 1975. He is the author of a well known text entitled, Probability and Statistics with Reliability, Queuing and Computer Science Applications, published by Prentice-Hall; a thoroughly revised second edition (including its Indian edition) of this book has been published by John Wiley.

TM-2 Morning, September 9, 2011: 9:00AM-12:30PM

Tutorial title:         Building an end-end nationwide IPTV service
Abstract:       This tutorial will examine the architecture and protocols needed for building an end-end nationwide consumer IPTV service based on the Internet Protocol suite. The tutorials will describe models for live channel tuning and interactive viewing of content based on long-term analysis of user behavior.
Bio:         Dr. K.K. Ramakrishnan joined AT&T Bell Labs in 1994 and has been with AT&T Labs-Research since its inception in 1996. Between 2000 and 2002, he was at TeraOptic Networks, Inc., as Founder and Vice President. Dr. K.K. Ramakrishnan is an IEEE Fellow and an AT&T Fellow,  work on the "DECbit" congestion avoidance mechanism was recognized in the 1995 retrospective issue of ACM Sigcomm Computer Communication Review as one of the 16 most important papers published over the previous 25 years in ACM Sigcomm publications. The work once again received the ACM Sigcomm Test of Time Paper Award in 2006.

TA-3 Afternoon, September 9, 2011: 1:30PM-5:00PM

Tutorial title: Cooperative and Green Heterogeneous Wireless Networks
Speakers:   Rose Qingyang Hu, Shilpa Talwar, Pingping Zong
Abstract:   The tutorial discusses the need for alternative strategies design and planHeterogeneous Network (HetNet), where low power nodes are overlaid within a macro network. HetNets have drawn high research interests from both academia and industry. They have also attracted the attention of the standardization bodies recently, such as 3GPP LTE and IEEE 802.16m. The tutorial will explore a broad scope of technical areas that are under investigation in the context of HetNets. These areas include node/client cooperation, interference management, mobility, green radio, QoS, yield management, security, applications and services.
- Rose Qingyang Hu is currently an Associate Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Utah State University. During 1998-2000, she worked for Nortel Networks, where she has been leading Nortel broadband multimedia satellite performance evaluation and 1xRTT CDMA Wireless Priority Service system design and evaluation. From 2004 to 2010, she held several management and senior research positions with Nortel, Research in Motion and Intel, where she led the companies? 4G wireless technology performance evaluation and standards development and worked on the next generation wireless base station architecture design.
- Shilpa Talwar is a Principal Engineer in the Wireless Communications Laboratory at Intel, where she is conducting research on mobile broadband technologies for increasing cellular capacity and coverage.
- Pingping Zong is a Distinguished Member of Technical Staff at Verizon. Since then, she has been actively involved with 3GPP RAN standardization activities and Verizon?s 4G LTE deployment.

TA-4 Afternoon, September 9, 2011: 1:30PM-5:00PM

Tutorial title: Traffic models for Quality of Experience assessment
Speaker:  Markus Fiedler
Abstract:   The tutorial aims at building bridges between traffic modelling and analysis ? which is at the core of ITC ? to QoE assessment. As a means of classification and prioritisation, generic relationships between QoE and QoS are given and discussed. The tutorial will focus on a set of models amongst others from the areas of mobile video streaming, network monitoring, seamless communications, service chains, and virtualisation, which allow to understand how technical choices affect QoE. The models are motivated by user studies on the one hand and by measurements taken in operational networks on the other hand.
Bio:  Markus Fiedler is an Associate Professor in teletraffic systems within the School of Computing (COM) at Blekinge Institute of Technology (BTH), Karlskrona, Sweden. He performs and supervises research on Quality of Experience (QoE); seamless communications; network virtualization; service chains; and networks of the future (NF). He was Chairman of the 18th ITC Specialist Seminar on Quality of Experience in 2008 and has been/will be co‐organiser of two QoE‐related Dagstuhl seminars in 2009 and 2012, respectively. He is also co‐leader of the European CELTIC Project QuEEN that covers a representative set of the leading QoE researchers in Europe. He has several leading positions in the European Network of Excellence Euro‐NF, e.g. as Member of the Steering Board, leader of the Specific Joint Research Projects and co‐chair of the joint research activities. He is furthermore active in Euro‐NF?s dissemination and vision work. Amongst others, he is coordinating the Future Internet Cluster Workshops together with the European Commission. In 2010, he became "Researcher of the Year" at BTH.